2022 Health and Safety Representative of the Year Awards

2022 Health and Safety Representative of the Year Awards

The 5th annual HSR of the year awards event was held at Shed 6 on the 2nd June 2022. It was fantastic to be able to host the event face to face, and welcome both HSRs and senior leaders to join us to celebrate the success of our six finalists. We were fortunate to have Hon. Minister Michael Wood, minister for Workplace Relations and safety join us, as well as Phil Parkes, CEO of WorkSafe NZ, and Mel Brown, an inspirational HSR from AsureQuality. The event was hosted by Ray Smith, Government Health and Safety Lead and Director-General for MPI.


The awards celebrate the hard work that our HSRs in the public sector do, above and beyond their everyday job title, to ensure that their colleagues are safe at work, and return home to their families at the end of every working day.  The criteria for nomination included HSRs who have played a significant role in delivering specific health, safety or wellbeing initiatives or have shown leadership and commitment to health and safety; encouraging engagement and development of staff or the organisation. Often these new and innovative ideas are recognised for their worth, and become national best practice within their organisations.


There were some amazing nominations from agencies this year.  These were reviewed by a judging panel including representatives from the Government Health and Safety Lead, Public Services Association and WorkSafe NZ.  The panel selected six finalists and one overall winner for this years’ awards. 


Anastacia Kirk; Department of Conservation

Ann Edwards; New Zealand Defence Force

Dianne Sharp; Waka Kotahi, New Zealand Transport Agency

Josh Fisher; Department of Conservation

Melissa Goodman; Oranga Tamariki

Tinaya Whaanga-Burton; Ministry for Social Development






(left to right) Ann Edwards, Dianne Sharp, Tinaya Whaanga-Burton, Anastacia Kirk, Josh Fisher (absent Melissa Goodman)