New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Award Finalists Announced

New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Award Finalists Announced

The New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Awards recognise the teams, initiatives and individuals who have made our workplaces safer and healthier over the last 12-24 months. The Awards celebrate the best health and safety initiatives and the dedicated people working to improve health and safety outcomes in New Zealand.

The annual New Zealand Workplace Health & Safety Awards have been run since 2005. They are organised by Safeguard with the support of WorkSafe New Zealand and ACC.


The GHSL team is particulary excited this year, as our very own Amelia (Millie) Thompson has been nomnated as a finalist for the 2023 New Zealand Workplace Health & Safety Awards, Category 13 – Mental Health Champion. 

We would like to congratulate Millie and all the other 2023 Finalists and wish all of them good luck at the awards night. 



The finalists in the New Zealand Workplace Health & Safety Awards for 2023 have been decided. The winners in each of the categories, and an overall winner, will be announced at a gala dinner at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland on 20 June. Click here for press release(external link)

The category finalists, in alphabetic order within category, are:

SAFETY (sponsored by Dentons Kensington Swan)
• Calder Stewart
• Martinus Rail NZ
• SeeDigital and Nexus Logistics

HEALTH (sponsored by WorkSafe New Zealand)
• Naylor Love Waikato/Bay of Plenty
• Switched On Housing

WELLBEING (sponsored by Vitae)
• Auckland City Mission
• Countdown
• KiwiRail

ENGAGEMENT (sponsored by NZ Safety Blackwoods)
• Auckland Council
• NZ Post
• Ports of Auckland
• Silver Fern Farms

INNOVATION (sponsored by Anthony Harper)
• C3
• New Zealand Defence Force and Aeropath
• Port of Tauranga
• Protranz Earthmoving

SAFETY-II (Sponsored by HSE Global)
• Ara Poutama Aotearoa/Department of Corrections
• March Cato
• New Zealand Steel

• March Cato
• Ports of Auckland

GOVERNANCE (Sponsored by Simpson Grierson)
• Brosnan
• Silver Fern Farms
• Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu

LEADERSHIP (Sponsored by ACC)
• KiwiRail
• NZ Fishing Health and Safety Forum
• Port Industry Association

• Jen Dransfield, Naylor Love
• Pete Finegan, Master Electricians
• Vanessa Matakatea, Ports of Auckland

EMERGING PRACTITIONER (Sponsored by edenfx HSE Recruitment)
• Eva Greensill, Auckland City Mission
• Jake Deans, Pipeline & Civil
• Rachel Ennis, Central Otago District Council

REPRESENTATIVE (Sponsored by Vero Liability)
• James Poultney, Silver Fern Farms
• Nandor Mraz, KiwiRail
• Peter Pomale, Link Alliance

MENTAL HEALTH CHAMPION (Sponsored by Site Safe)
• David South, Naylor Love
• Millie Thompson, Government Health & Safety Lead
• Shelley Easton, Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency

LEADER (Sponsored by Business Leaders’ Health & Safety Forum)
• Captain David Morgan, Air New Zealand
• Francois Dudouit, Link Alliance
• Joanne Reidy, Auckland City Mission

One special commendation award will be announced at the gala dinner.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT (Sponsored by Countdown)
Three lifetime achievement awards will be presented to:
Dr Chris Peace from Victoria University of Wellington Te Herenga Waka for his work
highlighting the need for risk management and better risk standards, and for elevating
the ambition of health & safety practitioners by mentoring them to aim for study at
postgraduate level.

Anna Osborne and Sonya Rockhouse for using their Pike River experience to raise
awareness of the need for higher safety and regulatory standards, greater justice in the
system, and better treatment of the survivors of mass tragedies and their whānau.
The WorkSafe New Zealand/ACC best overall contribution to improving workplace
health and safety in New Zealand. This award will be made to one of the winners of the organisational categories.